Q&A: How I Manage School/Work/Social Life

This is the most common question I hear about college life and let me tell you right now that it is not easy to do! 

Having to work while going to school is hard enough. If you don’t need to work, don’t do it. Taking on a short term internship wouldn’t hurt, but working in college is too much to handle. 

I started off with a short term internship and it wasn’t bad. I went to work twice a week, went to classes twice a week, homework two days a week, and a nice day of relaxation. I had it all figured out. That was until I decided to get involved on campus and take on another job. 

Im lucky because my school offers  complete online degrees which allows me to take online classes and gives me more freedom when it comes to my classes and homework. Having that freedom also opens up space for other things like work and involvement. If it want for online classes I would be able to have two jobs as well as be involved on campus. 

Being involved on campus is so great and I absolutely recommend it. It’s a great way to meet new people, but most importantly it’s a great way to find new opportunities. You need to be careful with that though because the possibilities are endless when it comes to things you can do. My first job in college came from a flyer that was handed to me at club meeting. I am currently still working there, but now I’ve added a second job. 

Having consistency and minimal days at my first job, made it easy to get another because I work all the other days. Having online classes is also great because I don’t have to worry about attending any actual class, I just do it before or after work whenever I have time. The same goes for campus involvement. I attend meetings and events whenever my schedule allows for it and most of the time, it does work out. 

Leave a Reply

