Buying/Renting Books

1. Never buy from campus store

Books from campus stores are usually overpriced and very inconvenient for students.  

2. BEST SITES/APPS TO RENT BOOKS:
<refer to end of post on how to rent books>

Apps: 

Borrow’d 

Cheg 

Amazon

Slugbooks

3. BEST SITES TO BUY BOOKS:
Amazon.com

4. FREE TEXTBOOKS ONLINE
Although you are not guaranteed to find your book, it doesn’t hurt to check or find a similar book on www.collegeopentextbooks.org. This is a free and legit website sponsored by the gates foundation to help students by levitating the cost of many textbooks. If you can’t find the book you’re looking for on the site, maybe you can find a book on the same subject that can work just as well.

Note: I had a sociology class that definitely needed the book but it was way out of my price range for a book, so I improvised. On some assignments/quizzes I was able to use online sources such as boundless.com, study.com, and quizlet.com. However, when it came to information that only a book could give me, my best resources was the http://www.collegeopentextbooks.org where I found other sociology books with the exact information my professor wanted for my assignment/quizzes. I ended that class with a B, without having the actual textbook. Mind you, this was an online class, so I didn’t have a lecture or notes to provide additional information.

HOW TO RENT BOOKS:
The process is typically the same for all book  renting sites:

– Order the book.

– Get it shipped to you.

– Most sites will give you an return label with your package. Save the packaging and the label.

– At the end of the semester/quarter, you will ship your book(s) back to the sender.

– Use the original packing (or buy your own if you didn’t save it) to send back your book(s) and don’t forget to add the return label they gave you on the package.

– Put it in the mail box and you’re good to go!

Add me on Borrow’d 


Leave a Reply

